This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

The Lying Life of Adults by Elena Ferrante: A Global Event for Readers

Date:

09/29/2020


The Lying Life of Adults by Elena Ferrante: A Global Event for Readers

An international celebration of Elena Ferrante’s new novel

Hosted by the global network of Italian Cultural Institutes

and

Europa Editions

Tuesday, September 29 | 3:00PM EDT

Conversation | Reading | Q&A

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Join Elena Ferrante’s “star translator” Ann Goldstein, authors Nicola Lagioia (Italy, Strega Prize) and Laura Pugno, and special guests t.b.a. for a celebration of Elena Ferrante’s global readership and a conversation about her latest New York Times-bestselling novel, The Lying Life of Adults. Conversation moderated by Europa’s Editor in Chief, Michael Reynolds.

Elena Ferrante readers number in the millions worldwide. She has been celebrated by authors such as Elizabeth Strout, Roberto Saviano, Lauren Groff, Karl Ove Knausgaard, and Richard Flanagan; by musicians and celebrities like Nicole Kidman, Patti Smith, Maggie Gyllenhaal, and John Waters; by well-known thought leaders like Hillary Clinton and Michelle Obama. Her Neapolitan novels have been made into an HBO original series; and her new novel, The Lying Life of Adults, has been optioned by NETFLIX.

Ferrante has been read by more people in more parts of the world than any other living Italian author and her work has sparked renewed interest in Italian literary culture.

At this event, co-hosted by a global network of Italian Cultural Institutes and in collaboration with the Consulate General of Italy in New York, we celebrate not only Elena Ferrante and her new novel but also her international readership and the global work of the Italian Institutes in promoting the cultural production of Italy.

Conversation starts at 3:00 pm ET / 12:00pm PT / 9:00pm CEST 5:00am AEST, with opening remarks by Francesco Genuardi, Consul General of Italy, New York.

Registration for this event is free.

Co-hosted by the Italian Cultural Institutes in New York, Washington, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Toronto, London, Sydney, Madrid, Barcelona, and by Europa Editions

 

Information

Date: Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Time: From 3:00 pm To 4:00 pm

Organized by : Co-hosted by the Italian Cultural Institutes in New York, Washington, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Toronto, Montreal, London, Sydney, Madrid, Barcelona, and by Europa Editions

Entrance : Free


Location:

Online

2254